All sights are set on the Sepang International Circuit as the Audi R8 LMS Cup heads to Malaysia. Qualifying will take place on Saturday August 13, with Rounds 5 and 6 to be held on Sunday August 14. Racing with team Audi Hong Kong for the weekend, Audi Sport driver Edoardo Mortara will further intensify the competition that has raged so far this year between the established stars and the young rookies in the Cup.

Champion Alex Yoong leads the pack.

Champion Alex Yoong leads the pack.

Coming to Malaysia, only four points separate the top three drivers. Alessio Picariello (65 points) of MGT Team by Absolute has pulled into an overall points lead with three second-place finishes from the first four races of the Cup’s fifth season. The gifted young Belgian will look for his first season win at the 5.54 kilometre long circuit on the outskirts of Kuala Lumpur. Former F1 driver and reigning Cup champion Alex Yoong (62 points) of Audi TEDA Racing Team is second overall after his Round 3 win in Thailand. The Malaysian can surely bet on strong support from his enthusiastic home crowd under the scorching south Asian sun.

Martin Rump (61 points) of Champion Racing Team travels to Sepang as the only driver to have recorded two wins this year. The young Estonian and last year’s Formula Masters China Series (FMCS) champion has managed the transition from single-seater racing to GT3 cars in remarkable fashion thus far.

Alessio Picariello.

Alessio Picariello.

Fourth overall is Marchy Lee (49 points) of team Audi Hong Kong. Joining his team for the weekend will be Mortara, who returns to the Audi R8 LMS Cup as the current third-placed driver in the 2016 German Touring Car Championship (DTM). During his previous appearance with the Cup, Mortara won the first race of the triple-header in Taiwan in 2015. The Italian is known in motorsport as “Mr. Macau” for winning the Macau GP Formula 3 race twice, before securing an Audi R8 LMS Cup race win and a hat trick (2011-2013) of GT Cup victories on the demanding street circuit.

“The Audi R8 LMS Cup has had three different winners out of the four races so far this season, proving the competitiveness of the series,” said Bernd Goeres, Director of Audi Sport customer racing Asia. “It’s a pleasure to be back at the Sepang International Circuit for our fourth year in a row.”

Martin Rump (EST) Champion Racing Team celebrates on the podium.

Martin Rump (EST) Champion Racing Team celebrates on the podium.

After sweeping back-to-back wins in Thailand, Jeffrey Lee of Team Audi Volkswagen leads the Amateur Cup classification ahead of Sun Jingzu and Johnson Huang, both of Absolute Racing.

Qualifying will begin at 16:30 on Saturday August 13 with Round 5 at 11:10 on Sunday August 14, and Round 6 later that day at 16:00 (all times UTC+8). Fans around the world can watch both races live at, (English) and on series partners’ video portals, LeSports, PPTV and Youku (Chinese).


Watch all races live at:

2016 Audi R8 LMS Cup
Provisional entry list – Sepang International Circuit, Malaysia

1/Alex YOONG/Malaysia/Audi TEDA Racing Team

6/Alessio PICARIELLO/Belgium/MGT Team by Absolute

7/Jeffrey LEE/Chinese Taipei/Am/Team Audi Volkswagen Taiwan

8/Aditya PATEL/India/Team Audi R8 LMS Cup

11/Kyong-Ouk YOU/South Korea/Team Audi Korea

13/SUN Jing Zu/China/Am/Absolute Racing

18/Martin RUMP/Estonia/Champion Racing Team

29/Akash NANDY/Malaysia/KCMG

43/Jan KISIEL/Poland/KCMG

48/Edoardo MORTARA/Italy/Audi Hong Kong

51/Johnson HUANG/Chinese Taipei/Absolute Racing

55/Vincent FLOIRENDO/Philippines/Am/EN Sport by Absolute

66/Rahel Frey/Switzerland/Castrol Racing Team

88/Marchy Lee/Hong Kong/Audi Hong Kong

99/CHENG Congfu (Franky)/China/FAW-VW Audi Racing Team

Am = Amateur Cup Competitor (New R8)

Overall classification after Round 4 – Top 10

  1. Alessio PICARIELLO – 65
  2. Alex YOONG – 62
  3. Martin RUMP – 61
  4. Marchy LEE – 49
  5. Rahel FREY – 45
  6. Jan KISIEL – 32
  7. CHENG Congfu (Franky) – 30
  8. Aditya PATEL – 20
  9. Ryo OGAWA – 20
  10. Yuichi NAKAYAMA – 7

Am Cup classification after Round 4 – Top 3

  1. Jeffrey LEE – 90
  2. SUN Jing Zu – 60
  3. Johnson HUANG – 44

Masters Cup classification after Round 4 – Top 3

  1. Daniel BILSKI – 51
  2. Chun Hua CHEN (Kevin) – 50
  3. YOON Sanghwi (Rick) – 36

Team Cup classification after Round 4 – Top 3

  1. MGT Team by Absolute – 65
  2. Audi TEDA Racing Team – 62
  3. Champion Racing Team – 61

Race success ballast for Round 5:

  1. Martin RUMP: 50 kg
  2. Alessio PICARIELLO: 35 kg
  3. Jan KISIEL: 20 kg
Ben Potter

Sepang set for Lamborghini Super Trofeo AsiaHometown Hero Fighting for Championship Lead at Sepang
Leave a reply