William “Bill” Hand outran a 166-car field to win for the very last time at the 4th leg of the 2015 National Drag Racing Championship (NDRC) Northern Series.

ndrc4_01Held at the Clark International Speedway (CIS) last November 28, the long-overdue season finale was moved from its original schedule last May 30 due to technical problems with the track’s timing system. It was then pushed back another 6 months to avoid the monsoon season.

Hand announced his retirement from competition at the age of 72 after this season together with Garage Power Racing teammate “Big John” Rizya. Rizya himself will leave the sport as the oldest ever drag racer at 75 years old fielding his 1967 Chevrolet “Thunder” Camaro.

Aiming to go out with a bang, Hand was poised to go up against Jonathan Tiu for the Quick 8 and Super Pro crown. But the JCT-Blanche “Tiunami 1” Nissan GT-R suffered mechanical issues, forcing Tiu to rely on his older Mitsubishi Evolution VIII for the day’s races.

The various Quick 8 heats whittled the field down to just the 2 rivals for the finals with Hand launching his 1932 “Blue Haze” Ford Roadster to get ahead of Tiu until the finish line. A timing system glitch, however, showed that Tiu won the match-up. The issue was later resolved by the race stewards headed by Race Director Phil Guilfin, awarding the win to Hand as well as the Quick 8 championship for the 2015 NDRC Northern Series.

Tiu placed 2nd, while teammate Jonathan Young in the Honda Integra came in 3rd.

In the Super Pro Class, it was Hand and Tiu again gunning for top honors as their machines were the only ones capable of registering a dial-in time of quicker than 10 seconds. Tiu outpaced Hand for 2 consecutive runs in a best of 3 battle, netting him the Super Pro top spot and the class championship.

ndrc4_03As for the Pro Class, John Rizya’s “Thunder” Camaro was sadly unable to progress into the final heat. This allowed Arvin Jay Millet in the Temz Automart Honda Civic to claim 1st place. Meanwhile, the RSL Motorsports Honda Civic of Castillo Bernabe and the SMDC Toyota Sarlet of Jojie Benedicto took 2nd and 3rd places, respectively.

In the Expert Class, Arvin Jay Millet wrapped up his successful season with yet another win, while Angelo Chua garnered the 2nd place. Chris Jason Millet then went on to claim 3rd place.

The brimming Sportsman Class saw Jannery Millet on the top spot, besting Robbie Francisco who broke out from his dial-in time. Arvin Don Villalobos took home 3rd. Paul Michael Galban took 1st place in the Hot Street Class over Harly Calubiran. Alfred Cayas then cinched the final podium spot.

With over 166 entries, the competitors were taking advantage of the event’s later date to scratch their racing itch and prepare for next year’s championship. Drag heats ran well into the night, but the enthusiasm of all competitors never wavered. The NDRC will return next year for a new season of fast-paced, high-revving action.

The 2015 National Drag Racing Championship is sanctioned by the Automobile Association Philippines (AAP) and sponsored by M&H Tires, Sparco, GT Radial, and Aguila Auto Glass.

2015 National Drag Racing Championship Northern Series Leg 4 Results

Quick 8
1st       William Hand

2nd     Jonathan Tiu

3rd      Jonathan Young

Super Pro Class
1st       Jonathan Tiu

2nd     William Hand

Pro Class
1st       Arvin Jay Millet

2nd     Castillo Bernabe

3rd      Jojie Benedicto

Expert Class
1st       Arvin Jay Millet

2nd     Angelo Chua

3rd      Chris Jason Millet

Sportsman Class
1st       Jannery Millet

2nd     Robbie Francisco

3rd      Arvin Don Villalobos

Hot Street Class
1st       Paul Michael Galban

2nd     Harly Calubiran

3rd      Alfred Cayas

Ben Potter

Eurasia confirm Oreca 05 Nissan for 2016F1 Top Shots: Abu Dhabi
Leave a reply