Cebu Pacific Air by KCMG capped off a dominant Formula Masters China Series (FMCS) race weekend and season by winning the 2015 Team Trophy and overall Drivers’ title with Martin Rump at Zhuhai International Circuit on September 18-20.

The Estonian ace had one hand on the Formula Masters crown after scoring the hat trick of pole position, race victory and fastest lap during the opening contest (Round 13). He then produced a similar performance on Sunday to twice finish second, securing him the title with this season’s three remaining races to spare.

“I’m very happy for the championship and I felt great about the performance today”, said new FMCS champion Rump. “I managed to get decent points and everything went according to plan. It’s a little bit sad that I couldn’t contest Alessio – in some places I was close, but of course I take the points and I take the championship!”

Rump’s title further emphasises Cebu Pacific Air by KCMG’s mantle as the series’ foremost team following James Munro’s Drivers’ crown last year.

Australian team-mate Nicholas Rowe secured a solid points-scoring weekend with a sixth place finish on Saturday followed up by a pair of fifths on Sunday in Rounds 14 and 15.  The Australian’s consistency has given him a good chance of finishing second overall in the standings.

The highlight for Star Racing Academy driver Yuan Bo of Cebu Pacific Air by KCMG was a podium finish in Round 14 where he finished in third place and won the Best Chinese Driver award, saying of his performance, “I did well in Race 14 and it feels fantastic to be back on the podium. Yesterday I struggled with some understeer, but today we changed the set-up and the car felt quite good. I really enjoyed Race 14, where I had a good fight with some drivers battling for position.”

Star Racing Academy alumna Jeffrey Ye also sealed a string of consistent finishes ahead of the other Chinese drivers in the series to complete a very strong weekend for the team. More so, compatriot Sean Zheng’s impressive performance at Zhuhai underlined a third place finish in Q2.

The Formula Masters China Series travels back to the Hermann Tilke-designed Shanghai International Circuit on October 17-19 to host the final three races of the season when Cebu Pacific Air by KCMG aims to have another dominant race weekend and win the overall Teams’ title.

Ben Potter

Lloyd puts in stunning drive to claim victory in ShanghaiLOSAIL WELCOME ARRC CIRCUS
Leave a reply