Former Philippine Touring car and GT champion William Tan will switch to single-seaters in 2016, having signed a deal to contest the AFR Series, as known as Asian Formula Renault series, with Asia Racing Team.

Having formerly been recognised as a regular touring car competitor, the switch to single seaters signifies a dramatic change in direction in Tan’s racing career. The Philippines racer did his single seater debut in the 2-hour Formula Endurance Race last January at the Zhuhai International Circuit.

Tan will race alongside Singapore’s Ni Weiliang and Liu Kai from China in Class A, who were both previously confirmed for Asia Racing Team. The Promethium Formula Renault 2.0/13 driver will also be competing for the “AFR Master Trophy”, a trophy reserved for drivers aged 35 and above.

Speaking about the challenging season ahead, William Tan said: “I feel very happy and confident to join the series. My confidence grew up with the testing and now I am improving each and every time I jump in the car. This year, I will be patient and gather experience by finishing races.”

Permanent Driver Coach Rodolfo Avila, added: “William is clearly a talented Gentleman driver and we are very proud to have him in the team. We have built up a great relationship over the last 6 months and we saw a lot of improvement since his first outing with this car.”

Ben Potter

Ni Weiliang Returns to ART for Asian Formula RenaultStrong Start to Mazda Championship for Weiron Tan
Leave a reply