As celebrations continue for the winning teams in the inaugural TCR Asia Series after the final round at Macau just three weeks ago, WSC Asia Limited have released their 2016 calendar, which again sees teams competing in a collection of events at Asia’s leading venues.
TCRAsia_ART_Sepang_0915_med copyExtending from four events to six, the 2016 TCR Asia Series will be contested across six Asian regions, on three Formula One classified circuits, two iconic street circuits, and an all-new international class venue in south-eastern China.
2015 saw the introduction of the TCR Series concept on the world stage, and whilst the TCR International Series saw the start of the new global touring car concept, Asia became the first regional series to begin competition with a four round program, three of those events on the TCR Series schedule, but for 2016, the TCR Asia Series will enjoy four dedicated events where the local stars will be the heroes.
The season will begin at the circuit developed for Formula One in South Korea during mid-May, before heading back to Buriram in Thailand – a popular addition to the maiden season of TCR Asia, and the scene of the penultimate event of the 2015 season.
Then it’s off to Sepang in Malaysia – the host of the opening event of 2015 – before teams are given the opportunity to take part in an invitational event at the third of the F1 circuits – Marina Bay in Singapore – another circuit that played host to the 2015 series.
The penultimate round will be held at the all-new internationally classified Zhejiang Circuit in southern China in late October, before the final round at arguably Asia’s most high-profile event, the Macau Grand Prix in the third week of November.
“2015 saw the introduction of TCR on a global level, and the formula proved an almost instant success,” WSC Asia Limited’s David Sonenscher explained. “At the same time we introduced the TCR Asia Series, and whilst we always knew it would be a challenge in it’s first year, we saw solid fields and a lot of interest from competitors across the region.
TCR series Singapore 18 - 20 September 2015“In the end, 22 people competed within the TCR Asia Series during the four events that made up the 2015 season, with 14 of those drivers competing in two or more events. Mixed in with the TCR International Series at three of the four races, the TCR Asia Series drivers often mixed it inside the top ten in the international field, with Asia Racing Team’s Rodolfo Avila a season best fifth at his home race in Macau.
“Off the back of the first season, we have a strong level of enquiry from teams wanting to be a part of the 2016 series, with both existing and new teams already confirming entries. Again we will join the TCR International Series at the Singapore Grand Prix and Macau, however the bulk of our season will be for TCR Asia Series teams alone, which will provide plenty of opportunities for the local stars to shine.
“We also have an increased media package for 2016, details of which will be released soon, with an expanded television program and an increased presence on social media across all Asian regions including China.
“We’re expecting an exciting year of growth with the TCR Asia Series off the back of what we saw and learned in 2015,” Sonenscher admitted. “It was great to see just how well the TCR Series concept was accepted across Asia and I think a number of the amateur drivers were surprised at just how competitive they could be against the International Series ‘pros’.”
Any teams looking at becoming involved with the TCR concept in the Asian region, should make contact via
2016 TCR Asia Series – calendar
Rnd#1/#2, 14-15 May – Korea International Circuit (South Korea)
Rnd#3/#4, 11-12 June – Buriram International Circuit (Thailand)
Rnd#5/#6, 6-7 August – Sepang International Circuit (Malaysia)
INVITATIONAL, 17-18 September – Marina Bay Street Circuit (Singapore)*
Rnd#7/#8, 22-23 October – Zhejiang Circuit (China)
Rnd#9/#10, 18-20 November – Guia Street Circuit (Macau)*
*alongside TCR International Series
2015 TCR Asia Series

Driver’s Championship Points 
1. Michael Choi (122-points), 2. Rodolfo Avila (89), 3. Philippe Descombes (77), 4. Samson Chan (61), 5. Filipe de Souza (55), 6. Munkong Sathienthirakul (48), 7. Tin Sritrai (47), 8. Kenneth Lau (46), 9. Eric Kwong (43), 10. Frank Yu (37), 11. Robb Holland (39), 12. George Chou (35), 13. Kevin Pu (32), 14. Masahiko Ida (31), 15. Liu Lik Ka (18), 16. Johnson Huang (14), 17. Andy Yan (3), 17. Kenny Lee (3)
Team’s Championship Points 
1. Asia Racing Team (265-points), 2. Roadstar Racing Team (198), 3. Prince Racing (170), 4. Craft-Bamboo Racing (132), 5. Niza Racing (8), 6. Wing Hin Motorsports (3), 6. FRD Racing Hong Kong (3)
Ben Potter

TOC Celebrates 12 years of Industry PartnershipFMCS drivers win GTC class at Sepang 12 Hours
Leave a reply