Saturday, January 16, 2021
Home Authors Posts by Asia Road Racing Championship

Asia Road Racing Championship

Begun in 1996, the Asia Road Racing Championship has been bringing Asian motorcycle champions together onto the same platform for the past two decades. Years of evolution has seen the Championship changing with the times. Today, the Asia Road Racing Championship races on the SuperSports 600cc platform, similar to the class used in the World SuperBike Championship; the highly popular Asia Production 250cc category and the Underbone 150cc category, thus preserving the unique heritage of South East Asian motorsports. The objective of the Asia Road Racing Championship has remained constant - to provide a stepping stone for national champions to move up to the next level of racing. Almost every rider in the Championship comes with an impressive resume of achievements and they come to measure their worth against that of their peers, all in the hopes of honing their skills in order to proceed to the world stage. Our success stories include big names such as former Suzuki MotoGP rider Chris Vermeulen, former Moto2 rider Ratthapark Wilairot, Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman, Indonesian wonderkid Doni Tata Pradita, Malaysia's former GP rider Shahrol Yuzy and former Moto3 rider Hiroki Ono. Current ARRC riders competing at the world stage include Hafizh Syahrin (MotoGP), Khairul Idham Pawi (Moto2), Nakarin Athirapuvapat (Moto3), Kaito Toba (Moto3), Hikari Okubo (WSSP600) and Kazuki Masaki (Moto3). From a marketing point of view, the Asia Road Racing Championship offers a very ride reach that extends into key markets throughout the Asian region.